About me

Shakila

New beginnings

Over the course of time, I’ve learned that there are common struggles that women face. Some I have experienced personally and others are happening around me, in my community and globally. In many cases, it is still considered taboo for women to talk about these issues.

I was born into and raised by a family of Surinamese-Indian heritage in the seaside city of The Hague in the Netherlands. With two older sisters, I’m the youngest in the family. While growing up, I began early on to witness gender differences in my environment. Men and women had specific tasks and separate roles set aside for them. My interest in gender differences only grew when I started studying discourses and social constructions in my cultural studies class in university.

I now meet many women through dance class and work, where I continue to hear similar stories of shared gender experiences. Where education has given me well-rounded knowledge of these topics academically, my lived experience has brought it close to my heart. Writing particularly on the topics of gender, culture, religion, and society is my way of contributing to creating a safe space where women share their experiences.

Why I Started

I am so glad that you are here!

…I would love to hear from you. Let me know what themes you find important and I will weave it into an upcoming article. If you have any feedback, questions, or experiences to share, feel free to send an email to: info@ourshakti.com

themes

Most read interviews

en_USEN